Here’s a question I ponder from time to time – why are the first two books of the Book of Mormon named 1 Nephi and 2 Nephi?  What merits a division between the two books?  These books appear consecutively and they are named for the same author – so why not just have a larger single book of 1 Nephi?

I have a few speculative answers but I’m curious what others think on the subject.  I’m also wondering if there are any authoritative answers to this question, whether from general authorities or LDS scholars.